Who has the best Web sites and social media outreach in Congress?

April 25, 2014 by No Comments

The Library of Congress

Who has the best Web sites and social media outreach in Congress?

The Congressional Management Foundation has given Golden Mouse Awards to more than 80 lawmakers for their excellent online communication. Illinois Sen. Mark Kirk (R) won the award for using twitter to disclose his Stroke recovery while Florida Congressman Patrick Murphy (D) has received the award for launching photo contest to highlight the polluted waterways in his state. Besides, Pennsylvania Sen. Robert P. Casey Jr. (D) has got the top Award for his outstanding website development.

The Congressional Management Foundation said in its official statement that “those are a couple examples that how legislators use internet and latest trends of technology to communicate with their constituents”.

In addition, president and chief executive of the good-government group Bradford Fitch said that “these legislators do not only improve their image but also benefiting the entire congress to some extent”. Actually, the Golden Mouse Awards are being awarded on the basis of two categories; Best Citizen Engagement on Social Media and Best Congressional Web Sites.

It goes without saying that Congressional Management Foundation has also criticized legislators in the Golden Mouse Awards report. It is said that most of the lawmakers do not update meaningful and most important information on their web sites and do not tell their constituents what their actions in the congress were.

Lastly, the foundation said that though there are many lawmakers who use the 1960’s “Mad Men” advertisement techniques yet a big number of legislators have realized the importance of online activism.

Here is the complete list of the 2014 Gold Mouse winners:
Best House Engagement on Social Media: Stephen Lee Fincher (R-Tenn.), Tim Griffin (R-Ark.), Michael M. Honda (R-Calif.), Darrell Issa (R-Calif.), Barbara Lee (D-Calif.), Thomas Massie (R-Ky.), Jim McGovern (D-Mass.), Patrick Murphy (D-Fla.), Erik Paulsen (R-Minn.), Mark Takano (D-Calif.).
Best Senate Web Sites: Robert P. Casey Jr. (D-Pa.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M), Carl Levin (D-Mich.) and Mark Udall (D-Colo.).
Best Senate Engagement on Social Media: Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Robert P. Casey Jr. (D-Pa.), Mark Kirk (R-Ill.), Patrick J. Leahy (D-Vt.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), and Bernard Sanders (I-Vt.).
Best House Web Sites: Karen Bass (D-Calif.), Judy Chu (D-Calif.), Michael M. Honda (D-Calif.), Jim Langevin (D-R.I.), Rick Larsen (D-Wash.), Sander M. Levin (D-Mich.), Alan Lowenthal (D-Calif.), Carolyn B. Maloney (D-N.Y.), Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.), Paul Ryan (R-Wis.), John F. Tierney (D-Mass.) and Fred Upton (R-Mich.).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *